Shuffling for Third at Sulphur Springs 100 Miler

McAlister_Sulphur1On Saturday, I raced the Sulphur Springs 100 Mile Trail Run in Ancaster, ON. Here’s how it played out: Started slow and easy, felt great and relaxed, figured I had this in the bag, tweaked my knee, sank into deep depression, thought about quitting, ate lots of gels, listened to music, stopped feeling sorry for myself, focused on moving as fast as I could, finished third in 17:44, received medal and belt buckle, gobbled down some pizza, shivered in freezing tent, decided to find new hobby.

If you’re looking for more details, check out the report on Salomon Canada’s running blog.

Big congrats to Dale Draaistra and Laura Paulo for crushing the 100-mile course records, and Michael Daigneaun and Adam Hill for their incredible 50-mile and 50K course-record runs. It was inspiring to see them running out there.

Gear:

  • Salomon S-LAB Jacket: Was cold at start, so wore this extremely lightweight wind jacket for first 20K.
  • Salomon EXO S-LAB Zip Tee and EXO S-LAB Twinskin Shorts: Comfortable and supportive shirt and shorts.
  • Salomon SpeedCross3: Great traction, support and cushioning over 100 miles. No blisters.
  • Salomon Advanced Skinbelt S-LAB Belt: Wore this for first 60K to carry my gels and electrolytes. Lightweight with no bounce.
  • Salomon Advanced Skin S-LAB 5: Decided to wear my hydration pack for last two-thirds of race so I wouldn’t have to carry a handheld and could just focus on taking care of my knee. Really enjoyed wearing this light pack, so may just use it for all of Haliburton 100 in the fall.
  • Salomon Fastwing Hoodie: Started to get cold in the evening, so wore this jacket for the final 20K.
  • Julbo Trail: My favourite sunglasses for trail running.
  • Suunto Ambit: Used the GPS and HR monitor to help me stick to a steady but relaxed pace.
  • Clif Shot Gels: I ate 36 of these (raspberry and vanilla) and had no stomach issues. I drank water from my handheld/pack and took sips of coke/gingerale at aid stations. I ate no solid food.

McAlister_Sulphur2

4 thoughts on “Shuffling for Third at Sulphur Springs 100 Miler

  1. Great job on battling through the low part. I went mountain biking the day after that race and thought “boy, this is a lot easier way to get around long trail distances!” New hobby?

    Interesting to see I wasn’t the only one out there with a UD bottle in a UA holster! Best combo.

    Kk

Leave a Reply

